Stella Contemporary Fashion Award 2009

story by Boris Marberg
photos by Boris Marberg and Alexander Palacios

Thursday November 12th, 2009 – the tenth annual Swiss Textiles Awards ceremony took place in Zurich. The event is produced by The Swiss Textile Federation, which is the leading trade association for textile producers in Switzerland, with about 200 companies counted in its membership. The finalists for the Stella Contemporary Fashion Award this year were Erdem, Alexis Mabille, Ohne Titel, Thakoon Panichgul, Peter Pilotto, and Alexander Wang. During the last ten years the award went through several conceptual changes, but it is now one of the most prestigious garment design awards in the world, as well as one of the most financially attractive competitions for rising star designers, with its 100.000€ (U.S. $150,000) prize. Continue reading “Stella Contemporary Fashion Award 2009”